Hagerty.com

1964-1967 El Caminos are on the rise

Australians know a good pickup/car hybrid when they see one, but America has had a rocky relationship with utes. Dodge dabbled with the Rampage, Subaru gave us the Brat and the Baja, and Ford gave us 23 years of the Ranchero, but the longest-lasting of them in the U.S. market was Chevrolet’s El Camino (Spanish for The Camino).

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.hagerty.com/articles-videos/articles/2019/03/15/64-67-el-caminos-on-the-rise

Spanish for “The Camino”??? Did you mean to say The Road? or The Highway?

It’s an old Saturday night live reference from when Chris Farley was pretending to be el nino on the weather channel.

youtube search Chris Farley el nino. It’s a classic

You guys sound like Gringos from Michigan. Other than that, El Caminos are an interesting collector with great parts support.

It’s a joke, in the vein of the SNL sketch that @ANDREW.LOMBARD55 mentions.

I graduated from HS in June 65. I had a nice Chevy 4d Sport Hardtop with a little pizzazz. I was driving by Braley dodge and spotted a bright red 64 Elco with 4 speed, buckets, console, duals and it was fast just sitting there.

I bought it incurring payments at 17. I kept it around 9 months. I could not keep my foot off the gas. I went thru three clutches and sets of tires a ticket or two. Getting to 70 in 1st, 90 in 2d and 120 to get to 4th was a thrill but in my gray matter now, very stupid.

I switched to a more docile 63 Impala. I always regretted selling the 56 because it was paid for.I bought a new 67 Cougar one year later and when drafted three months later I had to sell my car so I walked for a long time. Just last month I bought a 56 Sport Sedan, sold my 86 elco and am keeping my 85 elco. Selling an 85 Olds Cutlass and another 67 Cougar XR7 to make room and to downsize at 71.