Hagerty.com

7 battery basics to keep you charged up this winter

Winter is now upon us. Your vintage car is probably safely tucked away with its battery connected to a trickle charger, but the battery in your daily driver is now subject to stresses it doesn’t have in summer. Here are a few of my tips for winter battery survival.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.hagerty.com/articles-videos/articles/2019/01/15/7-battery-basics-keep-you-charged

I’m happy when I see topics like this pop up. As a dealer technician I see alot of miss information about batteries go around. In today’s vehicles it does more then just start the car and keep your radio presets.

The days of checking the specific gravity and water level in batteries are preety much gone with current battery technology for automotive. Thankfully I haven’t had a battery explode from a hydrogen leak in about 10 years.

And sometimes it’s just a mystery. I put a new battery in my 1982 Lincoln in November 2017 and by February 2018 it had given up the ghost. Yes there were hard starts in cold weather, although I only started it 5-10 times with that battery, and all the electronics in the car probably led to some parasitic drain but it’s hard to see how those things conspired together to kill a battery in 3 months. Maybe it was just bad.

The lesson is you just never know, but you have to be prepared. I got carb work done to make the car easier to start and now I always disconnect the battery when I’m not driving it (something a lot you already know to do but I’m a noob to old car ownership). So far the new new battery has held up 11 months. Fingers crossed for the cold weeks ahead.