Hagerty.com

Is a Pur Sang a Bugatti? How do we determine if replicas “count”?

As my colleague Jay Leno wrote in his column of the latest Hagerty magazine, replica cars are a way for regular Jills and Joes to experience the noise and vibration of certain types of classics that would otherwise be several tax brackets out of their league. I have some personal experience with this, as my 1933 Austin Seven wears a 10-year-old aluminum body that is, through squinted eyes, a replica of Austin’s original factory Ulster racers. The little boattail Austin looks the part and gives me a taste of the sporting life in the 1930s for a fraction of the cost of the real thing.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.hagerty.com/articles-videos/articles/2019/01/18/is-a-pur-sang-a-bugatti

I think it is fair to say that the movement against Pur Sang’s cars began in England where there has been a huge commotion caused by the government disallowing registration of a number of old cars, including Bugattis because of, primarily, non-original chassis. This has had a ripple effect that has raised concerns in the US as well. English companies have a long history of producing Bugatti replicas-only they have not been called that due to having perhaps a steering wheel or a clock that was originally in a Bugatti. That the “Argies” should now do the same thing is seen as beyond the pale. I should add that I am English born and bred-but perhaps that gives me more insight into the situation…