Hagerty.com

Mazda Miata Origin Story

Mazda often reminds us that the MX-5 Miata is the world’s favorite two-seat roadster, with more than a million sales since 1989. While total Corvette production is higher—one million by 1992, over 1.6-million to date—coupes outnumber convertibles in ‘Vette land by a wide margin.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.hagerty.com/articles-videos/articles/2017/09/06/mazda-mx5-miata-origin-american-bob-hall

I have been thrashing my NA since 2010. It’s not my fun car: it’s my to-work-and-back-bread-and-butter car. It takes so much abuse and asks for nothing in return; absolutely tough as nails. It’s invisible to thugs, squeezes in any space and makes u turns in crazy city driving a joy. Miatas get in your blood. Only occaisionally do I need a backseat, but that’s what your other ride is for.

MG not only stands for Morris Garages, it’s also Miata’s Grandpa. :wink: There’s a reason Moss is stocking Miata parts these days…

I had the opportunity to Auto cross one in 1990. What a wonderful car. Went where I wanted it and drove like a go-kart in the corners. Reminded me of my many British cars in the fun factor area, but with a tight feel and more responsive engine.

I currently have a MK1 1990 and love it. I also have a Spitfire and Fiat 124. I bought the Miata first…backwards I know. It is a GREAT platform! I love all 3 but must say if going on a trip across the country…this is the one I’d be MOST assured to make it without incident. It’s also one of the easiest to put the top up or down…They hit a home run with `1st Gen’ the MKII and MKIII well ?? MKIV yet to be proven! And I’m not a fan of the FASTBACK!! Might as well buy a Corvette :wink:

I’ve had three and raced one for years. It’s such a wonderful car, I fall back in love every time I get behind the wheel. They’re incredibly cheap these days too…