Hagerty.com

Motorcycles that you passed on when new only to buy many years later

Is there a bike(s) that you pined for when new but did not end up buying only to purchase much later on? Why did you not buy it when new? Was it hard to find years later and did it live up to your expectations after all of those years? What about it was different than you had imagined way back when? I am not referring to motorcycles that were picked up just a few years after their release once prices had dropped. Instead I am thinking of bikes that had passed you by (or vice versa) when they were new that you eventually went on to own a decade ore more later.

Motorcycles were a part of my life from very early on as my Dad was into motorcycles. For me it all started with a Honda Z-50 Mini-Trail when I was in grade school. That experience was made even sweeter due to the fact that my Dad also primarily rode Honda’s. I would continue to ride dirt bikes until I graduated from high school. I lost touch with motorcycling when I went off to college. While I had never been a street rider, by the time I managed to graduate and land a decent job there weren’t any new street bikes out that that captured my attention. That all changed in 1988 when I was passing by the magazine rack in a local store and the cover of Cycle World magazine caught my eye. The motorcycle featured on the cover was the new Honda Hawk GT. I had never seen anything like it before and was instantly enamored with it.