Hagerty.com

Station wagons aren’t going down without a fight

Looks like station wagons aren’t dead after all. In fact, they’re niche for the rich.

While SUVs are crushing sedans and compacts, U.S. buyers purchased 212,000 new station wagons last year, a 29-percent jump in five years, according to Edmunds. And since most of those new wagons are made by luxury brands (think Jaguar XF S, Volvo V90, Volvo V60, , and Buick Regal TourX), their buyers are more affluent and better educated than SUV buyers.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.hagerty.com/articles-videos/articles/2019/01/07/station-wagon-wealthy-buyers

I’ve got a 55 Chevy wagon . I hope the value goes way up . I’ve been working and improving on it for about 3 years . It is just about sorted .

Since the 1970s I suspected that accepting the job of program manager for a new station wagon derivative is the kissss of death in Detroit. Then I spent a lot of time in Germany and some neighbors. On the Autobahn muscular wagons rule the left lane. It’s because they take driving, handling and aerodynamics much more seriously there. Then recently Cadillac really surprised and impressed me with their CTS-V. Now that sports wagon is dead. But Buick is trying to now sell a wagon that looks like they copied my Volvo V60. It seems to me American consumers don’t put enough effort into analyzing the choices and their needs. It always amazes me how few pick up trucks look like they are working. BTW, our other daily driver is a Mini Cooper S. And my collection recently went from seven to a more rational four, an E-type Coupe, a Corvair Corsa Coupe, and two versions of 1958 Alfa Romeo Giuliettas. Parting thought - adopting the British name “estate” could help Detroit sell wagons.