Hagerty.com

The Scientist’s Guide to Manual Transmission Snobbery

If you’re a snitch of any sort, I need you to stop reading this right now. I’m sorry, but what follows is strictly for the people who never ran to the teacher when they were children. So if you have snitch-like tendencies, just hit the “back” button on your browser and read another one of the great features we are running today. Thanks in advance.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.hagerty.com/articles-videos/articles/2020/02/11/scientists-guide-to-manual-transmission-snobbery

I’ve been driving manual transmission cars in LA traffic for 36 years–I really don’t see the problem. Would an automatic be easier? Sure. So would hiring a chauffeur.

My '85 Prelude was better at cornering than accelerating, so I installed a Pep Boys-class device called a “Pass Master”. It was a vacuum switch that would shut off the A/C compressor when I floored it. Worked great.

3 Likes

That picture… Is that a Cayman GT4 Clubsport? I read the specs and got very sad because that car’s transmission is a PDK Dual-clutch. Aren’t there any good manual transmission factory race cars out there? I mean, other than the MX-5 Cup and the Caterham Seven…?

What an effing waste of my time. You got the snobbery part right. Not much else.

I’ll tell you why some people like manuals over anything else. They are fun.

4 Likes

I’ve had a problem for a while figuring out why even though this columnist is a good writer, I seldom enjoy anything he writes. Now it is quite clear - he’s a bicyclist, the natural enemy of all things automotive. Send him to HR for reprogramming :crazy_face:

5 Likes

I agree. What a waste of my time. What is Hagerty up to putting out this nonsense?? This article can be summed up in one word.
SUCKS!!!

1 Like