Hagerty.com

Vbelt replacement

What is the secret to putting a water pump belt on a 1970 454 corvette with ps and ac what belts go on which pulleys I’m a rookie at this

——> https://www.rockauto.com/en/catalog/chevrolet,1970,corvette,7.4l+454cid+v8,1040926,belt+drive,belt,8900

Not familiar with the car but I got to think it installing them should be pretty intuitive. I think both should be long enough to fit over the fan. If you ever got that Service Manual, there are usually guidelines on how to tension belts. Personally I use a small gauge for the purpose at the longest span of the particular belt. Without a gauge I think I’d err on the side of loose. If it squeaks on start-up or hard accel then tighten a little at a time.
I’m not suggesting Rockauto, just that their site was handy for numbers showing which belts and where.
It might be like suggesting which is the “best” beer, but I would go with AC Delco. Second choice would be Gates or Dayco.

1 Like

Your Corvette will use 4 belts with A/C and P/S. The first belt (from back to front) will run from the crank pulley over the water pump pulley and will have a tensioner pulley on the driver side. The second belt will run from the crank pulley over the water pump pulley and then to the P/S pulley. The third belt will run from the water pump pulley over the A/C pulley and then the smog pump pulley if you have one. The forth belt will run from the P/S pulley over the alternator pulley.

got it ! The w/p to crank belt with tensioner is the belt I can’t seem to put on (too tight) I can’t put it over pulley ! Loosened tensioner no help. Is there a trick to get it over pulley or do I have to remove w/p pulley. I ordered belts directly from corvette America and eckelers both same size ! If you can solve this I could get back on the road . If you know exact length of belts this would be a great help