Hagerty.com

Why the new Corvette doesn’t offer a manual transmission

After taking six decades to move the Corvette to mid-engine, Chevy ventured beyond clutch pedals without hesitation.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://www.hagerty.com/articles-videos/articles/2019/11/06/why-new-corvette-doesnt-offer-manual-transmission
1 Like

I know a bit about cars but I’m by no means an engineer, and I’m sure GM knows what they’re doing, but if the tranny has a capacity for taking a max of 570 f/lbs of torque and the engine makes 470 (net) isn’t that cutting it a little close in terms of load bearing force?
Just wondering what some engineers out there might think.

1 Like

Blah, blah, blah… No clutch pedal; the ultimate sin in an a supposed enthusiast car. Next!

4 Likes

It sure beats a Blue Flame six mated to a Powerglide!

3 Likes

I recently sold my 4 speed 59 Corvette after 30 years of ownership and received an amount that is well on the way to enable the acquisition of a C8 which was a consideration. Upon learning that it is available with automatic only, my decision is: no 3d pedal, no interest. Lets go see what Ford has to offer in a new Mustang GT…

4 Likes

I’m with drhino. The dual clutch automatic may be technologically superior but no clutch pedal; no deal. We’ll keep our 2019 Z06 conv…

3 Likes